Teach your child the days of the week by making your own calendar!

My 5-year old student was having trouble remembering the days of the week, so I decided to help her make a calendar to improve her memory. I made a calendar for the month of July and, by the end of the month, she was able to identify the correct date and day of the week. On top of that, she recalled the seven days of the week in order!

Here is the calendar that my 5yo and I created together:

calendar2

 

 

My student even made her own adorable calendar as well:

calendar1

Having my student create a calendar had other educational benefits as well:

  • Practicing writing numbers 1-31
  • Practicing ordinal numbers (ex: 1st, 2nd, etc.)
  • Spelling the days of the week
  • Understanding the concept of months, weeks and days

Also, if you’re learning the days of the week or ordinal numbers in another language, they really help your memory! I made my own calendar to practice the days of the week in French, and now I can recall them by heart. Lundi, Mardi, Mercredi, Jeudi, Vendredi, Samedi, Dimanche 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

