Counting Activity using the story “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”

One struggle that some of my Kindergarten students have been experiencing in math is visualizing the numbers 1-10. For example, when they see 8 objects in a row, they have trouble making the connection that those 8 objects can be represented by the number 8.

To help them better understand the concept of visualizing a number, I decided to read them the story “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle. The reason why I chose this story is because the caterpillar has to eat numerous amounts of food before finally creating its cocoon and turning into a butterfly.

Inspired by this book, I decided to create a caterpillar counting book for my students to help them learn how to visualize the numbers 1 to 5. Using scissors, paper, crayons, and a stapler, I was able to create this:

caterpillar0

caterpillar1

When I read the book to them and showed them the caterpillar counting book I made, they couldn’t stop holding it and counting the fruit! Eventually by the end of the lesson, all of my students had learned how many fruits it took to make the number 5. It was awesome to see my students so engaged in the book!

If you don’t have enough time to make a caterpillar counting book from scratch, you can use this template and print out the sequencing cards. Afterwards, staple the sequencing cards together to create your booklet:

caterpillar6
Source: http://www.slideshare.net/andreagimenez/sequencing-cards-the-very-hungry-caterpillar

Have fun counting with your students!

Leave a Reply

